Welcome to Iowa Public Television! If you are seeing this message, you are using a browser that does not support web standards. This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device. Read more on our technical tips page.

Iowa Public Television


Iowa Public Television to Hold Iowa Press Debate for Governor Race

August 5, 2014

LIVE statewide broadcast Thursday, August 14 4–5 p.m. 

Johnston, Iowa – Iowa Public Television will hold a gubernatorial debate on Thursday, August 14 at the Iowa State Fair. The hour-long debate will begin at 4 p.m. in front of a live audience in the Penningroth Media Center. The program will air live on IPTV WORLD and be streamed online at Iptv.org. The debate will broadcast on IPTV’s primary high-definition channel on Thursday at 7 p.m.  

The following candidates for Governor of Iowa will participate in the August 14 debate: Terry Branstad (R-Panora) and Jack Hatch (D-Des Moines).  

Dean Borg, longtime host of Iowa Public Television’s public affairs program Iowa Press, will moderate the debate. Reporters joining Borg include Kay Henderson, news director for Radio Iowa; Kathie Obradovich, political columnist for The Des Moines Register, and James Lynch, political writer for The Gazette. Candidates will answer questions from reporters and discuss their platforms, concerns and future plans for the state of Iowa. 

The Iowa Press Governor Debate kicks off Iowa Public Television’s 2014 Iowa Press Debate series including multiple events across the state. Details regarding future debates will be released in the coming weeks.

The Iowa Press Governor Debate will be open to the public with doors opening at 3 p.m. Spectators should plan to arrive no later than 3:45 p.m. to be seated prior to the live televised debate. Members of Friends of Iowa Public Television may reserve seating by calling 800-728-2828. 

For more information on the Iowa Press Governor Debate, please contact Kristen Gray at 515-725-9703 or kristen.gray@iptv.org.  



For immediate release:
August 5, 2014

For information contact:
Kristen L. Gray
Director of Communications

« Back to IPTV News