Welcome to Iowa Public Television! If you are seeing this message, you are using a browser that does not support web standards. This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device. Read more on our technical tips page.

Iowa Public Television


An Emmy Award for an IPTV Documentary!

October 22, 2007

Iowa Public Television Recognized with Emmy Award
A Promise Called Iowa Honored as Best Historical Documentary

(Johnston, Iowa) – Iowa Public Television was honored with a regional Emmy award this weekend by the Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Television Academy. A Promise Called Iowa, and producer Sara Frasher, were honored with the award at a ceremony this weekend in Minneapolis.  
    A Promise Called Iowa is the moving story about how Southeast Asian refugees became Iowans, retracing their journeys from Indochina to Iowa in the wake of the Vietnam War. The documentary also profiles the unique and important relationships formed between sponsors and the refugees they welcomed.
    Other key production staff for the documentary included Jack Shepard, Peter Tubbs, Phil Blobaum, Steve Carns, John Torpy, Neal Kyer, David Feingold, Jim Leasure, Jeff Horn, Joe Bustad, Tiffany Cleghorn, Karen Ziebarth, and Neal Brown. Martin Miller was the narrator, and Jimmi VanLuong composed the music.

   A Promise Called Iowa can be seen next on Tuesday, November 20 at 8 p.m. on statewide Iowa Public Television.    

# # #

Iowa Public Television is Iowa's statewide public broadcasting network. IPTV provides quality, noncommercial programming to make a difference in the lives of Iowans. As one of the last locally controlled media enterprises in the state, IPTV is committed to telling Iowa's stories like no one else can. Our mission to educate, inform, enrich, and inspire Iowans enables IPTV to present an unequaled array of programs of lasting value to Iowans regardless of where they live or what they can afford. More than one million viewers a week turn to IPTV for programming that reflects a range of interests for Iowans in all demographic categories. Iowa Public Television stations include: Channel 11, Des Moines; Channel 12, Iowa City; Channel 21, Fort Dodge; Channel 24, Mason City; Channel 27, Sioux City; Channel 32, Waterloo; Channel 32, Council Bluffs; Channel 36, Davenport; Channel 36, Red Oak. IPTV-Digital stations include: Channel 11.1, Des Moines; Channel 12.1, Iowa City; Channel 21.1, Fort Dodge; Channel 24.1, Mason City; Channel 27.1, Sioux City; Channel 32.1, Waterloo; Channel 32.1, Council Bluffs; Channel 36.1, Red Oak; Channel 36.1, Davenport (coming soon).

For immediate release:
October 22, 2007

For information contact:
Tonya Weber Dusold
Communications Manager
(515) 725-9705

« Back to IPTV News