Welcome to Iowa Public Television! If you are seeing this message, you are using a browser that does not support web standards. This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device. Read more on our technical tips page.

Iowa Public Television


Notice from the Chairman, IPTV Executive Director/General Manager Search Committee


Iowa Public Television's Executive Director/General Manager Search Committee has forwarded to the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board the names of the recommended finalists for the position of Executive Director and General Manager at Iowa Public Television. 

  • Molly Phillips, currently serving as Director of Communications and Community Engagement at Iowa Public Television;
  • Greg Schnirring, currently serving as Vice President for Radio at the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB).

The entire board will interview the candidates on Friday, March 8, at Iowa Public Television's studios in Johnston. Official notice of this meeting will be posted by March 1, 2013.

Members of the Search Committee are Rob Hall, President of the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board; Gary Steinke, Vice President; Betty Jean Furgerson, IPTV Board member and President Emerita; IPTV Board member William Withers; and IPTV Foundation Board member Peggy Whitworth.

In its search for candidates, the committee held a closed meeting on Tuesday, February 19, 2013. The meeting was closed pursuant to Communications Act section 396(k)(4) for the Committee to consider matters relating to: 

a. “…proprietary information,... commercial or financial information obtained from a person on a privileged or confidential basis…”; and

b. “the purchase of property or services whenever the premature exposure of such purpose would compromise the business interests of [Iowa Pubic Television]”.

During the closed meeting the Committee interviewed seven applicants for the Executive Director/General Manager position and narrowed the field of applicants to the two final candidates referenced above.  

Robert W. Hall
Chair,  Executive Director/General Manager Search Committee
February 26, 2013

« Back to Press Room